Gen Prayut and Ten Cabinet Ministers Win No-Confidence Vote

On Saturday, Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha and ten other ministers won a no-confidence vote after a three-day opposition-led debate.

General Prayut managed to get 256 votes in favor against 206 no-confidence votes. Nine MPs abstained.

Deputy Prime Minister Prawit Wongsuwon secured the most votes, with 268, followed by Deputy Prime Minister and Public Health Minister Anutin Charnvirakul, who garnered 264 votes of confidence.

Mr. Prawit had 193 no-confidence votes and 11 abstentions, while Mr. Anutin received 205 no-confidence votes and only three abstentions.

According to the vote’s results, the other most popular ministers were Transport Minister Saksayam Chidchob (262-205-5), Prime Minister and Defense Minister Gen Prayut Chan-o-cha (256-206-9), Deputy Finance Minister Santi Promphat (249- 204-18), and Digital Economy and Society Minister Chaiwut Thanakamanusorn (249-205-18).

The ministers with the fewest votes were Deputy Interior Minister Niphon Bunyamanee (246-206-20), Interior Minister Gen Anupong Paojinda (245-212-13), Social Development and Human Security Minister Chuti Krairiksh (244-209-17), and Labor Minister Suchart Chomklin (243-208-20).

The last politician on the list was Deputy Prime Minister and Commerce Ministry Jurin Laksanawisit, who received 241 votes in favor, 207 against, and 23 abstentions.

The cabinet’s MPs needed to gather at least 239 votes or receive support from half the number of MPs to succeed in the no-confidence debate. It was the latest motion against General Parayut’s administration, as new elections are scheduled for next year if parliament is not dissolved for a by-election.

However, the day before, General Prayut denied rumors that the cabinet would be reshuffled in the wake of the censored debate.

Earlier, it was reported that the ruling Palang Pracharath Party (PPRP) and the Democrat Party were pressuring the prime minister to reshuffle the cabinet. But General Prayut said he would have the last word on the matter, adding: “Don’t reshuffle. I am not thinking about it yet.”

The speculation followed reports that Thai Rak Thai Party list MP Peerawit Ruangluedolphak, a member of the so-called Group of 16, reiterated that they would vote against at least two cabinet ministers.